2016 Alpha Rho State Awards Committee Report

March 31, 2016

The responsibilities of the Alpha Rho State Awards Committee are to collect data and prepare Longevity, Order of the Rose, and Rosette Awards, which are presented at state conventions/conferences. The chairmen of the committee collaborate with the state president on the Alpha Rho State Service Awards and other special recognitions.

The Awards ad hoc committee, whose responsibility it was to explore alternative recognitions for the Alpha Rho service awards, did not have a final recommendation. The committee was disbanded. Due to the increasing cost of gold, smaller gold medals are currently being used to recognize service award recipients.

Bylaw changes were passed concerning both the make-up of the Awards committee and the requirements for the Order of the Rose. The Awards committee will now consist of two co-chairs with input and support from the state executive committee, and past service award recipients. The Order of the Rose was not awarded to any chapter in 2015. After looking at the decreasing size of chapters and noting the decreasing number of chapters in Alpha Rho, it was decided to redefine chapter sizes, the number of initiates needed to qualify, and to include reinstated members to achieve the Order of the Rose. Those changes are as follows:

Small Chapter (30 or less) - 1 new or reinstated member **Medium Chapter** (31-60) - 2 new or reinstated members **Large Chapter** (61 or more) - 3 new or reinstated members

The dates between which chapter membership will be defined will be April 1 of the preceding convention/conference year and March 31 of the current year.

The 2015 Alpha Rho Service awards were awarded to three outstanding members. Catie Thurber-Brown of Beta Beta received Service to Society for her never-ending work in the Unique Boutique and other Alpha Rho sales. Kathy Howard of Gamma received Service to Community for the many hours she volunteers supporting the Springfield Public Library. Judy Sheppard, also of Gamma, received Service to Education as an active teacher at Douglas Gardens Elementary, demonstrating outstanding dedication to the Kindergarten teaching team and to her own students.

The following chapters were recognized with the 2015 Rosette Award for submitting reports, newsletters, and chapter brochures to the appropriate persons and in a timely manner:

Gamma, Eta, Epsilon, Zeta, Lambda, and Alpha Nu.

Longevity awards were as follows: 25 years of membership Sue Kupillas –Epsilon Pamela Amato –Phi Jarrylynn Reel -Alpha Nu Judy Heerdt -Alpha Phi Lacey Vogel -Alpha Phi Leila Collier -Alpha Omega

Donna Journeay -Beta Beta Susan Sager -Beta Beta Jane Reyneke -OR State.

50 years of membership –
Margaret Johnson –Gamma
Virginia Iverson –Gamma
Mariece Lindsay –Epsilon
Barbara (Bobbi) Middaugh –Epsilon
Janice Biggerstaff –Eta.

Other Awards included recognition of members having achieved their 100th birthdays and were awarded to:

Charlene Hanan - Phi - 6/27/1913 Joyce Hulse - Phi - 11/8/1914 Irma Wauchope - Alpha Pi - 2/9/1911 Dr. Neva Neill - Zeta - 8/18/1914 Esther Miller - Apha Delta - 5/24/1914 Alice Fossati - Iota – 10/2/1914.

One member, Susan Faller-Mitchell –Omega, received her re-certification as a National Board Certified Teacher.

Information needed to prepare the 2016 Longevity Awards for 25 years and 50 years of membership was provided by the Membership Committee and the convention registration team.

Information needed to prepare the Order of the Rose and Rosette Awards was supplied by the State Communication/Technology Committee, the Membership Committee, the State President, and the State Treasurer.

Award certificates are being prepared, and are scheduled to be presented, at the 2016 State Conference in Pendleton, on April 30, 2016.

The New Oregon Trail newsletter, State President memos to chapter presidents, and an Awards Brochure handed out at the September Fall Leadership meeting in Philomath, were used to promote the awards process. Response was favorable as seen by the number of Service Award nominations received in 2016.

Respectfully submitted, Priscilla Ing, Co-CHAIR, Lambda/3